Adoption actions can be extremely complex and require a thorough understanding of a highly specialized area of law. For this reason, it is strongly recommended that petitioners for adoption seek the assistance of an attorney in filing adoption matters. The lawyer should be knowledgeable in Missouri adoption laws. Additionally, there are not forms or advice that can be provided by our office to assist in filing a pro se adoption petition.
Yes, if they're are siblings and have a parent in common.
Yes, unless there are unusual circumstances and you have gotten prior approval for the child/adoptee to not attend.
You must fill out the form and submit a form of identity verification:
Copies can be released to the petitioner upon Judge’s order. You must provide documentation of your identify for this to be released as well as pay for the certified copy. Please allow 1-2 weeks for your request to be processed.
Once the file is complete, the Adoption Specialist will contact the petitioners’ attorney with at least 3 available hearing dates. The petitioners’ attorney is responsible for checking with the parties for availability and letting the Adoption Specialist know which date will work for all parties. The petitioners’ attorney is then responsible for sending notice of hearing.
Greene County charges $35 for service. The petitioner is responsible for getting the service providers information (address, fees), provide a check for the amount needed payable to the service provider.
$.10 per page
$1.50 per document for certification.
$1.00 per document to mail
Filing fee for adult adoption or recognition of foreign adoption petition is $208
1 count petition fee: $308 for one child
2 count petition fee: $408 for one child
Add $30 for each additional child (Vital Records cost for amended birth certificate to be processed)
Publication cost in Greene County is $95. Payment will need to be made then Greene County will pay Daily Events. An affidavit for publication and order for publication must be prepared and filed. The clerk will do the notice.
If you need to publish somewhere other than Greene County, it is your responsibility to locate that service and determine that cost then submit the information to the clerk. Payment will need to be made to the publication source.
At the end of each month the Circuit Clerk sends the Certificates of Decree of Adoption forms and a check to the Missouri Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Records, who will process and issue the new birth certificate or forward the form to the appropriate state. This process may take up to 3-6 months.