

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 24, 2025

Personal and Business Property Assessment Lists - Second Notices

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. – Greene County Assessor Brent Johnson is urging all Greene County residents and business owners to submit their 2025 Personal and Business Property Assessment Lists before **May 1, 2025**, to avoid late assessment penalties.

Assessments not returned by the initial March 1 deadline are already considered late and subject to penalties. However, in accordance with Missouri statutes, the Assessor has the authority to waive late penalties if assessment lists are submitted before **May 1**.

Second notice postcards will be mailed on March 28th to **38,072 individuals** and **2,418 businesses** who have yet to file their assessment forms. The original assessment lists were distributed in early January.

"I want to ensure that everyone has the opportunity to submit their assessment lists by May 1 to avoid penalties, which can range from \$15 to \$105, depending on the assessed value," Johnson said.

How to File Your 2025 Personal or Business Assessment List:

- **Online:** File electronically via the Greene County Assessor's website at https://greenecountymo.gov/assessor/
- **By Mail:** Return the completed paper form to the Assessor's Office.
- In Person: File directly at the Assessor's Office.

Please note: Assessments cannot be completed by phone.

Make sure your list is signed, all unsigned lists will be returned and not accepted.

For individuals needing to assess property for tax years prior to 2025, please contact the Assessor's Office directly, as prior year assessments are not available through the online system.

Additionally, property and business owners may verify the receipt status of their 2025 assessment list through the Greene County Assessor's website. "My goal is to make the assessment process as smooth as possible for all property and business owners," Johnson said. "This online tool adds transparency by allowing users to check if their list has been received." Status updates are typically reflected within 24 hours of receipt by the Assessor's Office.

To check the status of your 2025 Personal Property and Business Assessment List go to the Greene County Assessors website at, https://greenecountymo.gov/assessor/.

Click on the orange button at the top of page to check your 2025 assessment status.

Greene County Missouri Assessor						
Assessor Home	Search	Information	Forms	Online Filing	Contacts	
Click Here to File Online						
	Click here to check your 2025 assessment status			t status		

You will be prompted to enter your Personal or Business Personal Property Account Number.

Please enter your account/tax ID.						
If you need assistance finding your account/tax ID please search here.						
Account/ Tax ID: Check						

Enter your account number and click check. The status of your account will be displayed. (Either as Received, Not Received or List returned by Post Office)

The status on this account is: Received	Assessment List has been received by	
Filed on: 1/6/23	the Assessor's Office	
The status on this account is: Not received	Assessment List has NOT been received by the Assessor's Office	

The status on this account is: List returned by post office

Assessment List was returned by Post Office. Contact the Assessor's Office.

Under Missouri law (RSMo. Chapter 137), all Greene County residents and business owners as of January 1, 2025, are required to declare all taxable personal and business property to the Greene County Assessor. This includes, but is not limited to, motor vehicles, boats, trailers, livestock, farm machinery, and business-related equipment.

The information provided on the assessment lists will form the basis for calculating 2025 personal and business property tax bills, which will be issued by the Greene County Collector of Revenue in November 2025.

Residents or business owners who did not receive an assessment list are encouraged to contact the Greene County Assessor's Office at (417) 868-4101 or visit the office in person at the Greene County Historic Courthouse, 940 N. Boonville, Room 37, Springfield, Mo.

The Assessor's Office is open:

- Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday: 8:00 a.m. 4:30 p.m.
- Wednesday: 8:30 a.m. 4:30 p.m.

Example of Second Notice Post Card

Brent Johnson Greene County Assessor 940 N. Boonville Ave. Springfield, MO 65802-3802

2025 Second Notice

DEADLINE: BEFORE MAY 1ST

ACCOUNT #:

Dear Property Owner,

PH: 417-868-4101

Our records indicate your Assessment List was not returned by the statutory March 1st deadline. Please either submit your assessment list online, complete and return the form mailed to you on January 1st, or contact the Assessors Office as soon as possible.



To E-File, Scan QR Code or Go To: www.greenecountymo.gov/assessor Account #:

T4 P3 2803

Ույլեցինինի Արգրիկին Արևինինինին Արևինինին

DOE, JOHN 123 Main St. Springfield, MO 65801 Greene County is the State of Missouri's fourth most populous county, serving approximately 300,865 people. Its mission is to provide all citizens of Greene County, including those in its cities, with a safe and thriving community through excellent customer service, unparalleled dedication, and the efficient use of taxpayer dollars. The Greene County Commission is the executive body of Greene County operating under guidelines established in the Revised Statutes of the State of Missouri. Within that authority the Commission enacts ordinances, resolutions and policies, supervises the activities of county departments, fixes salaries, adopts the annual budget, provides for construction and other services, and conducts hearings on planning and zoning matters.

For additional information contact the Greene County Public Information Office at 417-844-4311 or pio@greenecountymo.gov.