GREENE COUNTY, MISSOURI

2025

PROCEDURES FOR PERMIT FOR SEASONAL SALE UNIT

(Fireworks, Greenhouses, Fall Festivals, Christmas Trees)



Temporary sales units for fireworks can be located in any area **zoned for commercial or manufacturing use**, as long as the applicant meets the requirements for a building permit. A temporary sales unit for fireworks may be located within any other zoning district if a Conditional Use Permit is approved by the Greene County Board of Zoning Adjustment and meets the requirements for a building permit.

NOTICE TO APPLICANTS: The following information was obtained from website of Missouri Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety:

"Notice: If you are involved in Missouri's fireworks industry as a manufacturer, distributor, wholesaler, jobber or seasonal retailer, it is your responsibility to be familiar with and know Missouri law, RSMo. 320.161 and Missouri's Code of State Regulations II CSR 40-3.010."

You may find it helpful to access their website at <u>www.dfs.dps.mo.gov</u> or call 573-751-2930 for additional information from that office.

The following supporting documents are required to be submitted prior to a Greene County Building Permit being issued for seasonal sales unit.

(#1 is required only if fireworks are sold.)

- 1. <u>Missouri Division of Fire Safety Permit</u> Application and information regarding fireworks licensing available at <u>www.dfs.dps.mo.gov</u>; 573-751-2930.
- Missouri Sales Tax License OR Temporary State Vendor License Application and information available at Missouri Department of Revenue DOR website www.dors.mo.gov/business; 573-751-5860.
- 3. <u>County Merchant License</u> Obtain from Greene County Collector, Room 107, 940 Boonville, Springfield, MO 65802; <u>www.greenecountymo.gov/collector</u>; 417-868-4036.
- 4. Greene County Highway Department Right-of-Way Temporary Access Permit & Bond Obtain permit from Greene County Highway Department, 2065 North Clifton, Springfield, MO 65802; 417-831-3591. (Permit cost is \$40.00 and a cash bond is required for all temporary accesses. Bond for first access is \$1,000 with each additional access bond of \$500. Refunded upon access removal and restoration of area. Final inspections for bond refunds must be scheduled with John Parham @ 831-3591.)
- 5. <u>Current notarized lease agreement and/or notarized statement from property owner giving permission for lessee to operate sales unit on property.</u>
- 6. Commercial Review by Planning & Zoning Division.

All documents and application should be submitted to Greene County Resource Management Department, 940 Boonville, Room 305, Springfield, MO 65802, faxed to 417-868-4175, or emailed to resourcemanagement@greenecountymo.gov. See Page 3 for additional information required in order for permit to be issued.

Temporary sales units for fireworks can be located in any area **zoned for commercial or manufacturing use**, as long as the applicant can meet the requirements for a building permit. A temporary sales unit for fireworks may be located within any other zoning district if a Conditional Use Permit is approved by the Greene County Board of Zoning Adjustment and meets the requirements for a building permit.

Greene County Resource Management Department Building Regulations Division

417-868-4015 - Phone

417-868-4175 - Fax

resourcemanagement@greenecountymo.gov

SEASONAL SALES UNIT

►►► PLEASE NOTE: ALL NECESSARY PAPERWORK MUST BE SUBMITTED TO OUR OFFICE AT LEAST TEN (10) BUSINESS DAYS PRIOR TO A PERMIT BEING ISSUED.

See Page 2 for supporting documents to be submitted with application for staff review. The following is ALSO required:

- 1. A **current** and **detailed** site plan must accompany all applications and must include:
 - a. Complete address of the site.
 - b. Map directional arrows.
 - c. Identify all streets and roads.
 - d. All dimensions of the lot.
 - d. Location of all power lines.
 - e. Location of all existing buildings, distances from each other and distances from the property lines.
 - f. Location of all storage units containing flammable and / or explosive materials. (Gasoline tanks, propane tanks, dynamite, fireworks, etc.)
 - g. Usage of all existing buildings must be stated. (All setback requirements must be fully adhered to - see below for detailed information.)
 - h. Location of proposed unit and the setbacks from the property lines.
 - i. Location of the off-street parking area. One (I) space required for every two hundred (200) square feet of sales unit area).
 - i. Number of parking spaces or square footage of (designated) available parking area.
 - k. Location of ALL proposed access drives from Greene County or State Highway Department roads and streets. Designate whether each is temporary or permanent. (Driveway permit and cash bond for all temporary accesses will be required prior to issuance of building permit. See Page 2 for more information on permit and bond.)

Setback Requirements:

- 1. Setback requirements for seasonal sales units must adhere to all requirements for property location as set forth by the Greene County Planning and Zoning office.
- The unit must be a minimum of twenty-five (25) feet from all other buildings on the same or adjoining

CHECK LIST FOR SEASONAL SALES UNIT PERMIT

Applicant: _					
Location:					
1.	Application – MUST BE FILLED OUT COMPLETELY				
2.	Legal Description of Property				
3.	Notarized Lease Agreement / Notarized letter of permission from property owner				
4.	Permit from the Missouri Division of Fire Safety				
5.	Missouri Sales Tax License OR Temporary State Vendors License				
6.	Greene County Merchant License				
7.	Right-of-Way Permit for Temporary Access (Cash Bond Required*)				
8.	Current and Detailed Site Plan must accompany all applications and must include: a. Complete address of the site. b. Directional arrows on site plan. c. All streets and roads must be identified. d. Dimensions of the property. e. Location of all power lines. f. Location of existing buildings, distances from each other and distances from the property lines. g. Usage of all existing buildings must be stated. h. Location of proposed sales unit and the setbacks from the property lines. i. Location of all storage units containing flammable and / or explosive materials. (Gasoline tanks, propane tanks, dynamite, fireworks, etc.) j. Location of off-street parking area. One (1) space required for every two hundred (200) square feet of sales unit area. k. Location and identification of ALL proposed access drives (includes all Greene County or State Highway Department roads and streets). Designate whether each drive is temporary or permanent. *(Prior to issuance of permit, a R-O-W Permit from Greene County Highway Department for all temporary driveways and payment of the cash bond is required.)				

STAFF: Please be sure to check site plan for all of the required details prior to accepting application.

GREENE COUNTY BUILDING REGULATIONS

940 Boonville, Springfield, MO 65802

Telephone: (417) 868-4015 Fax: 417-868-4175

SEASONAL SALES UNIT PERMIT APPLICATION

NOTE: If applicant needs additional information regarding seasonal sales units, please contact Building Regulations Division. ALL documents and information listed on previous page (licenses, permits, site plans, letters of authorization, leases, etc.) must be submitted prior to issuance of permit.

If you need assistance or have questions, our office personnel will be happy to assist you.

PLEASE PRINT:			
Designate type of unit: Tent _	Stand Other (Spe	cify type)	
Specific Use(s):Fireworks	_GreenhouseSeasonal	FestivalChr	istmas Trees
Other (Specify):			
Permit Issued to:Property Ow	nerContractor/Operato	or	
Property Owner: (IMPORTANT: If accompanied by a current notarized property owner(s) notarized state property.)*	ed lease agreement, an ap	proved Condition	nal Use Permit
Property Owner:			
Mailing Address:			
City	State:	Zip: _	
Contact Phone:			
E-Mail Address:			
Contractor/Operator Information (If o	,		
Mailing Address:			
City		Zip: _.	
Contact Phone:			
E-Mail Address:			
Sales Unit Site Address: (Must be a	approved by Greene County	Addressing Office	-Room 305)
(Street or Farm Road #)	(City)	(State)	(Zip)
If permit for fireworks, have they been	en sold from this location pre	viously? O Yes	○ No

be

on

Directions to Sales Unit Site: (Please furnish nearest intersection of county and/or state roads.)						
UTILITY PROVIDER (For Services At This Location):						
Electricity Provider: Office Location:						
DRIVE OR ACCESS INFORMATION:						
Access From Farm RoadNew***Existing***Both***						
(Permittee <u>MUST</u> contact the Greene County Highway Dept. <u>(417-831-3591) 48 hours prior to installation of new driveway OR anv changes made to existing driveway(s)</u> . Driveway permits must be obtained at the Greene County Highway Department located at 2065 N. Clifton, Springfield, MO 65802; 417-831-3591.)						
Access From State Highway If so, which one						
(If drive is to access from a State Highway, access permit MUST be obtained from Missouri Dept. of Transportation located at 3025 East Kearney Street. 417-766-2691.)						
***All temporary driveway accesses from County roads or streets require \$1,000.00 cash bond for first access and \$500.00 for each additional access per site. Bond is refunded once removal and restoration is completed, inspected and accepted by Greene County Highway						
Department. All temporary driveway accesses for fireworks stands must be removed and						
approved by Highway Department no later than July 20. Failure to remove by that date will result in forfeiture of bond.						
DISCLAIMER: Individual signing application is responsible for accuracy of information submitted. Information provided on the application has been furnished for the purpose of issuance of permit. Errors and/or omissions of information submitted with the application for permit are not the responsibility of Greene County or this office.						
By my signature below, I affirm that I am the property owner or a legally authorized representative* for the property involved in this application.						
PLEASE PRINT YOUR NAME: Date						
SIGNATURE:						

Firework Seasonal Sales Unit Inspection Checklist

Requirements by Greene County Building Regulations

1) Mii ff				inspection
Missouri fire safety permit	1)	Pass / Fail	1)	Pass / Fail
2) Missouri sales tax license	2)	Pass / Fail	2)	Pass / Fail
3) Vendor license	3)	Pass / Fail	3)	Pass / Fail
4) Greene County merchant license	4)	Pass / Fail	4)	Pass / Fail
5) Greene County building permit	5)	Pass / Fail	5)	Pass / Fail
Fire extinguishers:	Initia	al inspection	Re-	inspection
1) Minimum of 2 extinguishers (Type 2A minimum) with at least one water type	1)	Pass / Fail	1)	Pass / Fail
2) All extinguishers must have annual inspection documentation attached	2)	Pass / Fail	2)	Pass / Fail
3) Maximum travel distance to an extinguisher: 35 feet	3)	Pass / Fail	3)	Pass / Fail
4) Must be in an accessible location	4)	Pass / Fail	4)	Pass / Fail
Site requirements:	Initia	al inspection	Re-i	inspection
1) Unit has the required setbacks according to the zoning approval	1)	Pass / Fail	1)	Pass / Fail
2) Unit has at least 15' from overhead electric lines	2)	Pass / Fail	2)	Pass / Fail
3) Minimum of 20 feet from other buildings or other seasonal sales units and generators	3)	Pass / Fail	3)	Pass / Fail
4) No hay, straw or shavings within the sales unit unless treated with flame retardant	4)	Pass / Fail	4)	Pass / Fail
5) Minimum 30' area around site clear of dry grass, dry brush and combustible debris	5)	Pass / Fail	5)	Pass / Fail
6) No parking within 10' of sales location with parking area and sales unit separated by structurally stable semi-permanent parking barriers	6)	Pass / Fail	6)	Pass / Fail
7) No storage trailers within 10' of sales location	7)	Pass / Fail	7)	Pass / Fail
 Minimum of 50' from gasoline pumps, filling stations, propane tanks, open flames or cooking equipment 	8)	Pass / Fail	8)	Pass / Fail
Posted signs:	Initia	al inspection	Re-i	inspection
1) "FIREWORKS NO SMOKING" on all containers and at each entrance	1)	Pass / Fail	1)	Pass / Fail
2) "FIREWORKS FOR SALE - NO SMOKING" inside and within 25' of all outside entrance	2)	Pass / Fail	2)	Pass / Fail
3) "NO FIREWORKS DISCHARGED WITHIN 100 FEET" displayed within 25' of all entrances	3)	Pass / Fail	3)	Pass / Fail
NOTE: All sign letters must be minimum 4" high on contrasting background				
Means of egress:	Initia	al inspection	Re-	inspection
1) 2 clear and unobstructed exits with a minimum width of 44"	1)	Pass / Fail	1)	Pass / Fail
2) Minimum clear aisle width not less than 48"	2)	Pass / Fail	2)	Pass / Fail
3) Minimum 2 exits with maximum egress travel distance of 35'	3)	Pass / Fail	3)	Pass / Fail
Electrical equipment, emergency lighting and exit signs	Initia	al inspection	Re-i	inspection
1) All exits sign illuminated	1)	Pass / Fail	1)	Pass / Fail
2) Emergency light with battery backup system required in sales area	2)	Pass / Fail	2)	Pass / Fail
3) Electrical system, equipment, wiring and cords isolated from the public	3)	Pass / Fail	3)	Pass / Fail
 All electrical wiring and equipment U.L. listed installed and maintained to prevent hazards (in trench or protected by approved covers) 		Pass / Fail	4)	Pass / Fail
5) Branch circuits protected by GFCI	5)	Pass / Fail	5)	Pass / Fail
6) Main disconnect located at electric meter	6)	Pass / Fail	6)	Pass / Fail
7) Electric meter, disconnect and weatherhead secured to pole	7)	Pass / Fail	7)	Pass / Fail
8) All electrical equipment grounded and weather proof	8)	Pass / Fail	8)	Pass / Fail
9) Extension cords shall be grounded type minimum 14 gauge U.L listed	9)	Pass / Fail	9)	Pass / Fail
10) Electrical cords rated for exterior use or UF cable if buried and a minimum 12/2 with ground free of splices and kinks	10)	Pass / Fail	10)	Pass / Fail
11) No open light fixture sockets and bulbs without protective guards	11)	Pass / Fail	11)	Pass / Fail
Prohibited activity and items	Initia	al inspection	Re-	inspection
1) Alcoholic beverages prohibited during business hours	1)	Pass / Fail	1)	Pass / Fail
2) No electronic pest control devices	2)	Pass / Fail	2)	Pass / Fail
 Persons under 16 years prohibited from selling or working unless under supervision of anothe person at least 18 years of age 	r 3)	Pass / Fail	3)	Pass / Fail
nit number:				
ector signature Business Representative Signature			Da	ıte
nspection Business Representative Signature			D	ate

All signs removed from the property when sales unit closed for the season

Date _____